Khupe Axes More Councilors

By Llyod Takawira

The Khupe led MDC-T party has recalled eleven (11) more Harare councilors including the deputy mayor, Enoch Mupamawonde.

The recent recall brings the total number of expelled councilors in the capital to sixteen (16).

In a letter addressed to the Harare town clerk the Local Government minister, July Moyo under the instruction of the MDC T said eleven wards are now vacant.

The eleven expelled councilors are Makuwerere Lovemore ward 24, Hadebe Gilbert ward 39, Kufahakutizwi Munyaradzi ward 19, Mapanzure Simon ward 34, Chibhagu Charles Ward 30, Charumbira Keith ward 8, Dhliwayo Stephen ward 8, Ndira Banabus ward 21, Runyowa Chihoma ward 29, Nyatsuro Charles Ward 26 and deputy mayor councilor Mupamawonde Enoch of ward 35.

The recall spree has seen the expulsion of members of parliament as well as councilors from Bulawayo and Harare.

In a statement the MDC Alliance described the recalls as a continuous assult on the voter.

“The recalls are a continuation of the assault on the will of the people by Mnangagwa & his proxies, a further 11 councillors have been recalled from Harare City Council. This has nothing to do with constitutionalism or service delivery but is a reprisal for the election of Jacob Mafume” the statement read.

“The timing of the expulsion has sold out the strategy. The said expulsions violate the MDC constitution. Fundamentally, Khupe’s mandate even from the SC judgment long expired. There’s no legal basis for these counter-productive “recalls” that are costly to the electorate”.

The recall of councilors has been condemned by a plethora of residents pressure groups such as Combined Harare Residents Association (CHRA) Bulawayo Progressive Residents Association (BPRA).

The lobby groups condemned the MDC T for the recalls arguing these will likely result in the establishment of commissions to run councils.

In the past commissions have gobbled millions from local authorities coffers.

The recalled councilors will add to the growing list of vacancies that are set to be contested on December 5 2020 By-elections date.