Home Politics Parly daclares 15 CCC seats vaccant 

Parly daclares 15 CCC seats vaccant 

by Bustop TV News

By Staff Reporter 

SPEAKER of parliament Jacob Mudenda has written to Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) announcing 15 vacancies following  recalls by Sengezo Tshabangu who claims to be the party’s interim secretary general.

Tshabangu, whom the CCC has disregarded calling him an impostor and not their member, wrote to parliament last week recalling over 20 legislators and councillors saying they had ceased to be members.

The CCC leader Nelson Chamisa also wrote to Mudenda urging him to disregard Tshabangu’s recalls.

However in a letter written to ZEC, Mudenda considered Tshabangu’s letter and disregarded Chamisa’s.

“I hereby notify you, in terms of Section 39 (1) of the Electoral Act, that a vacancy now exists in the membership of Parliament, by reason of Hon Febion Munyaradzi Kufahakutizwi, who was the elected Member of Parliament for Mabvuku Tafara Constituency having ceased to belong to the CCC on 4 October 2023,” reads Mudenda’s letter to ZEC whose format is copied for the other 14.

Openings in the 15 electoral constituencies present an opportunity for the ruling Zanu PF party to potentially secure a two-thirds majority in Parliament.

Analysts suggest that this majority could be a crucial initial move towards President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s ambition to eliminate term limits and extend his tenure in office

The recalled MPs include Pashor Sibanda who won the Cowdray Park National Assembly seat in a tightly contested race against Finance Minister Mthuli Ncube, Ereck Gono (Lobengula Magwegwe), Nicola Watson(Bulawayo South), Desmond Makaza (Mpopoma Mzilikazi) Obert Manduna (Nketa), Mlilo Sitabile (P.R), Jasmine Toffa (P.R), Janeth Dube (P.R), Evidence Zana (Youth Qouta), Morgan Ncube (Beitbridge West), Nomathemba Sibanda (P.R), Velisiwe Nkomo (P.R), Prince Dubeko Sibanda (Binga North) and Bright Moyo Vanya (Lupane East)

Related Articles