Home Sports Harare Rugby Awards held

Harare Rugby Awards held

by BustopTV

By Trevor Makonyonga
Belgravia Sports Club was yesterday (Saturday) colourful as the inaugural Harare Rugby Awards took place in the capital.Players, coaches, administrators and referees put aside the boxers and casual wear and clad their best evening garments giving the event glitz and glamour.

First to be recognized were the coaches who attained the highest IRB accreditation being the level 2 coaches in 7s and level 3 coaches in 15s.
Pit-bulls forward Blithe ‘Driller’ Mavesere was the biggest winner of the night as he scooped the Best forward player of the year in the senior and junior categories and he was also named the 2019 player of the year.

Mbare select starlet, Carlos Matematema took two awards as he scooped the young backline player of the year and the rookie of the year awards.
In the ladies division, Police Defender Constance Ngwende was the biggest winner as she bagged the backline player of the year and the overall ladies player of the year.
Other awards that were given include the referee of the year, reporter of the year and coach of the year.
The winners were presented with shields, certificates and T-shirts from Telone.
Below is the full list of winners:
Backline player of the year
Juniors male- Carlos Matematema (Mbare Select)
Juniors female- Kudzai Wasili (Old Georgians)
Senior males- Kudzai Mashawi (Harare Sports Club)
Senior females- Constance Ngwende (POLICE Defenders).

Forward player of the year
Junior males- Blithe Mavesere (Pitbulls)
Junior females- Amanda Tshuma (Old Georgians)
Senior males- Blithe Mavesere (Pitbulls)
Senior females – Lissy Wasarirevu (Police Defenders)
Rookie of the year
Males- Carlos Matematema (Mbare Select)
Females – Kudzai Wasili (Old Georgians)
Referee of the year- Talent Gandiwa
Reporter of the year- Jeff Murimbechi (Grindstone)
Administrator of the year- Shingi Vere (XP Horns)
Coach of the year- Geoffrey Madhake (Pitbulls).
Player of the year
Males- Blithe Mavesere (Pitbulls)
Females – Constance Ngwende (Police Defenders).

Related Articles