Home News BAZ Licenses Eight More Community Radio Stations

BAZ Licenses Eight More Community Radio Stations

by Bustop TV News

By Tafadzwa Chigandiwa

The Ministry of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services through the Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe (BAZ) has officially licensed eight more Community Radio Stations (CRS’) across the country.

The development was confirmed by BAZ in a statement dated September 15.

“The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe would like to announce that it has licensed eight (8) more Community Radio Stations,” reads the statement.

According to the regulatory board, the following applicants have been granted permission to operate as CRS’.

Radio Bukalanga (Pvt) Ltd with coverage area of Mangwe, Brunapeg and Mapisa then Matobo Community Radio Trust to cover Ndolwane, Plumtree and Empandeni while Madziwa Community Radio Trust will cover Shamva.

To add on, Vemuganga Community Radio Trust is set to operate in Chipinge-Checheche and Chibuwe and Ndau Communitu Radio Station Trust will cover Mahenye (Garahwa).

Furthermore, Chimanimani Community Radio Station Trust’s coverage area will be Chimanimani, Gwendingwe and Rusitu while Twasumbuka Community Radio Trust will geographically cover Binga, Kamativi and Siabuawa.

Patsaka Nyami Nyami Community Radio Trust t/a Kasambabezi FM has been permitted the coverage area of Kariba and Mapongola.

BAZ ordered all the licensed community radio stations to fully operate within a period of 18 months, failure to do so will result in the license being automatically revoked in accordance with the BSA act.

To date, BAZ has awarded licenses to a number of community radio stations and campus radio stations together with six new free-to-air private television stations.

Related Articles