Home Uncategorized Zimbabwe dates Sri-Lanka in test series.

Zimbabwe dates Sri-Lanka in test series.

by BustopTV

Sports Reporter

The Zimbabwe senior male cricket team will play Sri Lanka in a two-match Test series to be played at the Harare Sports Club. The first test match starts tomorrow, January 19, 2020.

The country’s cricket has been on the spotlight for so long due to controversies that have surrounded the sport’s administration.

These mishaps saw Zimbabwe being banned from the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2019. Now that the nation has been awarded a chance to tango with the world there are things that most definitely have to be avoided like politicising the sport and mismanaging funds.

However, the important thing at the moment is seeing off Sri Lanka.

This week was characterised by controversy as one of Zimbabwe’s players, Ryan Burl, took to Twitter to register his frustration over being left out after he cut short his Bangladesh Premier league appearance. He demanded being given an explanation as to why he was left.

Also left out is PJ Moor. There has been talk that these two players backed the Mlotshwa camp when the ZC board was suspended but whether that is the case or not the assembled team has to represent the team well.

Sean Williams captains the team. It is good to see Sikandar Raza Butt and Regis Chakabva back in the fold. Craig Ervine, Prince Masvaure, Tymicen Maruma and Donald Tiripano are some of the experienced players in the team. It will be good if Zimbabwe wins this series for confidence purposes.

Zimbabwe have to justify their test playing status. Although it seems as asking for too much, Zimbabwe has to win this series as a big statement. Losing will be drastic for fans who had been starved of international action.

The opponents
Sri Lanka has been struggling a bit but ratings show that they are superior to Zimbabwe. Captained by Dimuth Karuratne the team as host of experience in Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella. This team looks as if they will dismantle and annihilate Zimbabwe on paper.

It looks as if Zimbabwe will have to work overtime to sustain this team.
It looks like the series will be one-sided although the rains could save Zimbabwe.

Sean Williams (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva (wk), Tymicen Maruma, Kevin Kasuza, Prince Masvaure, Carl Mumba, Brendan Taylor, Brian Mudzinganyama, Ainsley Ndlovu, Kyle Jarvis, Donald Tiripano, Victor Nyauchi, Charlton Tshuma and Craig Ervine.

Sri Lanka:
Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimane, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan and Suranga Lakmal.

Related Articles