Home Sports ICC February winners announced

ICC February winners announced

by Kudakwashe Vhenge

 By Sukuoluhle Ndlovu

Ravichandran Ashwin and Tammy Beaumont have been voted the International Cricket Council players of the month of February, an official confirmed. 

The ICC Senior Manager for Media and Communications Ketaki Golatkar said India’s Ashwin, the ICC men’s player was voted because of his performance.

“He (Golatkar) won for his impressive performance against England as part of India’s successful Test series victory. In the 3 tests he played, he scored a 106 in the second innings of India’s second Test victory over England at Chennai and took his 400th Test wicket in the third victory at Ahmedabad.

Scoring a total of 176 runs across these games and taking 24 wickets, Ashwin was the unanimous choice to win in the men’s category for February and garnered the most votes in the fan vote,” he noted.

England’s Beaumont won through the 3ODI’s where she performed her best. “Beaumont played 3ODI’S IN February against New Zealand where she passed fifty in each of these, totaling 231runs. She was overwhelmingly named the ICC Women’s Player of the Month for February 2021,” Golatkar said. 

The representative for ICC Voting academy, Ian Bishop commented on the performances of the 2 nominees. 

“Ashwin’s consistent wicket taking, even in helpful conditions have helped to put his team ahead in a very important series. His century in the second Test was a critical as it came when England were trying to claw their way back into the match. That ensured that India shut the door on the opposition,” he said. 

“Three half centuries of which two were in helping her team win the match was outstanding from Beaumont. Particular emphasis on the fact that two of the knocks were unbeaten innings and coming inevitably on two occasions whilst having lost her opening partner early on, she had to see things through for her team, which was incredible,” Bishop said. 

Fans continue voting for their favorite players every month.

The awards are held on a monthly basis to recognize and celebrate the best performances from both male and female cricketers across all forms of international cricket.

Related Articles