Home Sports Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket team to face South Africa

Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket team to face South Africa

by Bustop TV News

By Trevor Makonyonga

The Zimbabwe women’s cricket team will face South Africa in a series of five one day matches 5o be played at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo.

The matches scheduled for 18, 20, 22, 24 and 26 May will be played behind closed doors at Queens Sports Club, with no fans allowed in the ground due to COVID-19 protocols.

Zimbabwe will play without six of its key players, including captain Mary-Anne Musonda who is recuperating from a knee injury, having undergone surgery last month.

Ashley Ndiraya, who is recovering from a broken finger, has been sidelined too.

Zimbabwe will also have to do without the veteran duo of Chipo Mugeri and Nomatter Mutasa who are both on maternity leave.

The selectors have also decided not to bring in the experienced pair of Sharne Mayers and Anesu Mushangwe who are currently plying their trade in South Africa and Australia respectively.

Youngsters such as Kellis Ndhlovu and Mitchelle Mavhunga, while a few others who have been on the fringes for long will finally get some game time.

In the absence of Musonda, Josephine Nkomo will captain the team together with Modester Mupachikwa, Precious Marange, Tasmeen Granger, Esther Mbofana and Nomvelo Sibanda will provide the hosts with the much-needed experience in the series.

The local cricket team was recently granted Test and one-day international status by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and will be using the matches against the South Africa Emerging Women side as part of their preparations for the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021 scheduled for December in Sri Lanka.

The top three teams from that 10-team qualifying event will progress to the 50-over ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand.

Zimbabwe Women Squad:

Nkomo Josephine (captain), Chatonzwa Christabel, Chipare Francesca, Dhururu Chiedza, Granger Tasmeen, Gwanzura Nyasha, Marange Precious, Mavhunga Mitchelle, Mazvishaya Audrey, Mbofana Esther, Mujaji Pellagia, Mupachikwa Modester, Ndhlovu Kellis, Phiri Loryn, Sibanda Nomvelo

Reserves: Mzembe Chiedza, Nire Rumbidzai

Related Articles