Home Sports Beast honoured by team of the decade nomination

Beast honoured by team of the decade nomination

by Kudakwashe Vhenge

By Trevor Makonyonga

Zimbabwean born Springbok World Cup winning prop, Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira, has credited the work he put in the Zimbabwean schools system as the foundation of his incredible career.

Speaking to Bustop TV, Beast said that he does not take the honor of being nominated into the team of the decade lightly as it is a result of hard work and toil which he has put together since the beginning of his career.

“Its obviously a huge honour and not something I take lightly. It’s a culmination of all the hard work I’ve put in from my days at Churchill Boys High and Peterhouse Boys School, running hills during the school holidays including all the processes at The Sharks and Springboks, so its an incredible feeling to then be recognized at the very highest world stage for all that blood and sweat,” he said.

Mtawarira made his debut for South Africa against Wales in June 2008. With 117 caps, he is the most capped prop in South African history and the third most capped Springbok of all time behind Victor Matfield and Bryan Habana.

With his number of caps, Mtawarira is the 17th most capped international forward of all time and the 5th most capped prop of all time. He is also a 2019 Rugby World Cup Winner.

Born 35 years ago in Harare, Beast attended Harare schools rugby union powerhouse Churchill School in Harare for five years before being given a full scholarship to Peterhouse Boys’ School. 

At the age of 15, while at Churchill, he was spotted by coach Joey Muwadzuri who invited him to join the Under 19 side at the National Schools Festival. Later that year Muwadzuri invited him to be part of Cats and Dogs Rugby Academy Team that won the National Seniors 7’s tournament.

Another player of Zimbabwean descent, Wallabies former Vice captain David Pocock also made the team of the decade. 

Before, no Zimbabwean national team player had managed to be nominated into the world rugby team of the decade.

World Rugby’s team of the decade: Ben Smith (NZL); George North (WAL); Brian O’Driscoll (IRE); Ma’a Nonu (NZL); Bryan Habana (RSA); Dan Carter (NZL); Conor Murray (IRE); Sergio Parisse (ITA); Richie McCaw (NZL); David Pocock (AUS); Sam Whitelock (NZL); Brodie Retallick (NZL); Owen Franks (NZL); Bismarck du Plessis (RSA); Tendai Mtawarira (RSA)

Related Articles