Home Sports Pitbulls win Exide 7s

Pitbulls win Exide 7s

by BustopTV

By Trevor Makonyonga

Last year‘s winners of the Exide 7s tournament, Pitbulls, managed to successfully defend their title this year, 2019, as they never tasted defeat throughout the tournament. 

The Pitbulls finished the tournament in style as they faced Mutare in the final and managed to beat the Eastern highlands team 15-7.

The Pitbulls scored three tries through Blithe Mavesere, Nigel Tinarwo and Liberty Sibanda whilst Mutare replied through the Muneta twins‘ converted try. Munashe scored the try and Munopa converted.

The Pitbulls head coach, Geoffrey Madhake said that he felt goodabout the win and that his charges were ecstatic. 

“It‘s a great feeling obviously to win. I think winning is the best thing that could ever happen to a man. For the boys they are ecstatic having won the tournament in back to back tournaments.” Madhake said.

Speaking on what it means for his predominantly schoolboy side to dominate the 7s division, Madhake said that not all his players were school going.

He said, “Not all of the players are still in school.  We have Blithe Mavesere and Munashe Kamudaya who bring in experience. The boys work hard and we have a strong bench.”

The head coach also took time to comment on Shadrack Mandaza’s development. 

Shadreck is originally a Churchill boy. His father works at the school although he went to Prince Edward. He is back with us and has been playing very well. He had to sit this one (the Mutare game) out because it was big. Last time during the Old Georgians match I had to pull him out because the game was a little intense for him to handle,” said Madhake.

The Pitbulls are made of Churchill Boys High students and old boys. During the season they did not lose a game and their game seemed to improve weekly. Next year could be bigger for the young Pitbulls.


Pitsbulls 7

Blithe Mavesere, Eddy Makaza, Brendon Mukundu, Nigel Tinarwo, Liberty Sibanda, Munashe Kamudaya, Takudzwa Mundandishe.

Mutare Sports Club 7

Ngoni Chibuwe, Munopa Muneta, Munashe Muneta, Munashe Murato, Jones Dedza, Brighton Matiashe, Gideon Muyambo,

Related Articles