Home Sports Lady Chevrons to face Pakistan named

Lady Chevrons to face Pakistan named

by Kudakwashe Vhenge

By Trevor Makonyonga

A fifteen member Zimbabwe Ladies Cricket team to face Pakistan has been announced. The team is set to play in three fifty over matches and the same number T20I matches in Harare with action starting on Tuesday February 9.

The team is to be captained by Mary-Anne Musonda with seasoned campaigners like Precious Marange, Modester Mupachikwa, Josephine Nkomo, Ashley Ndiraya, Tasmeen Granger and Nomvelo Sibanda providing experience to the squad. 

However, there are notable absences to the team which Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) explained in a statement.

“Conspicuous by their absence from the squad are veteran campaigners Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano and Nomatter Mutasa who are both expecting, while Anesu Mushangwe and Sharne Mayers have also been omitted as they are currently playing cricket in Australia and South Africa respectively.

“Their absence has opened up opportunities for Francesca Chipare and Kellies Ndlovu the only one in the squad yet to play some form of international cricket who have been rewarded for their impressive performances during the recent inter-provincial women’s competitions”.

Christabel Chatonzwa and Esther Mbofana, who were both not part of last women’s campaign to represent Zimbabwe in international cricket back in May 2019 have made the cut this time round. 

Zimbabwe and Pakistan will meet for the first time on 9 February and eventually during the whole series with the other two 50-over matches penciled in for 12 and 14 February. The T20I matches are set for 17, 19 and 20 February. 

All games will be played at Harare Sports Club in the capital, with no spectators allowed in the venue where stringent COVID-19 protocols are in place as part of a bio-secure bubble set up for the tour.

Both Zimbabwe and Pakistan are using the tour as part of their preparations for the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021, a 10-team tournament that will be held in June and July this year. 

The top three teams from that qualifying event will progress to the 50-over ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand. 

Zimbabwe Women’s Squad: Mary-Anne Musonda (captain), Ashley Ndiraya, Precious Marange, Pelajia Mujaji, Chiedza Dhururu, Modester Mupachikwa, Kellies Ndlovu, Tasmeen Granger, Esther Mbofana, Francesca Chipare, Loryn Phiri, Nomvelo Sibanda, Josephine Nkomo, Audrey Mazvishaya, Christabel Chatonzwa

Related Articles